Bushnell Street

715 BUSHNELL – VERNACULAR
Although an enclosed porch and aluminum siding obscure the original appearance, the house still reflects the low-pitched hip roof, projecting eaves, and rectangular massing of the early 20th century vernacular, as applied to a former carriage house, moved forward and remodeled into a duplex. Constructed in the 1860s and remodeled in about 1910.

719 BUSHNELL – ITALIANATE
Charles B. Salmon, the first owner, attended Beloit College, 1864 – 1867, returned to Beloit in 1873, and helped form the Eclipse Wind Mill Company. Originally an Italianate cottage, this clapboard house was drastically enlarged and altered in the late 19th century, obliterating the 1878 house except for the bay window on the side; even the 1890′s facade was further obliterated by an out-of-scale front porch in the 20th century.

725 BUSHNELL – DUTCH COLONIAL REVIVAL
Built in about 1925 for Charles B. Salmon’s 50th wedding anniversary, according to Walter Von Fischer, owner, in a verbal statement to the surveyor in July 1981. Two story plus attic Dutch Colonial red brick house with full upper dormer intersecting with the gambrel roof. A chimney stack at each end with quarter round windows flanking stack at the attic level. Front entry has deep barrelvaulted porch below gambrel eave with a lattice type enclosure.

801 BUSHNELL – ROMANESQUE REVIVAL
Damaged by fire caused by lightning on August 24, 1998, the remains of The First Congregational Church were razed and a new church constructed on the site. Historically, the First Congregational Church was closely associated with the early settlement of Beloit and the founding of Beloit College. Established in 1838 with 24 original members, many of whom came to Beloit with the New England Emigrating Company, the congregation’s first permanent home was built in 1843 and briefly housed the first classes of Beloit College. In 1859, responding to the needs of an expanding membership, the congregation began construction of the church, finally completing the cream brick structure in 1862. At the time of its completion, and for decades afterward, the auditorium of the First Congregational Church was the largest hall in the city, and thus an appropriate site for College¬†activities as well as religious services. On the day of dedication, July 6, 1862, the church was the site for Beloit College’s baccalaureate service with President Chapin presiding.

The original First Congregational Church was significant architecturally as a major work of the mid-19th century Wisconsin architect Lucas Bradley of Racine. Bradley was a friend of Beloit College president, and First Congregational member, Aaron Lucius Chapin, and that relationship was instrumental in the awarding of the commission. The church, reflecting elements of both the Greek Revival and Romanesque Revival styles, was built of cream brick in 1859. A central square tower rose from the entry facade, through the pedimented gable and culminated in a wooden cupola added in 1894.

Bradley was apparently influenced by contemporary Greek Revival pattern books, which can be seen in several of his designs and which explains the evident influence of the revivalism on this church. Nevertheless, his buildings have proved to be among the most sensitive and accomplished pre-Civil War designs in Wisconsin, and the First Congregational Church was the finest extant 19th century church in all of Rock County.

905 BUSHNELL – See Online Tour

911 BUSHNELL – AMERICAN FOURSQUARE

Late Picturesque Early Colonial Revival frame house with hipped roof, flare eaves, and dormer windows. A side oriel still remains but the siding and porch posts are not original. Constructed about 1900.

917 BUSHNELL – QUEEN ANNE

With the complex roof line and tall proportions of the late picturesque, this two and a-half story frame house has some decorative spindle and spool work, leaded glass and projecting side and chamfered walls. Built about 1885.

925 BUSHNELL – See Online Tour