716 WISCONSIN – GEORGIAN REVIVAL
A Georgian Revival with rectangular plan, gable roof and regular fenestration. Original siding and stone facing cover the exterior. Built about 1940, this house is now a multiple residence.
722-724 WISCONSIN – QUEEN ANNE
A late picturesque style two story plus attic frame house with the floor plan and massing of the 1880s – cross gables, and a two story widow bay to the south - but also a Queen Anne tower rising two and one-half stories with diamond paned fixed sashes, and an octagonal roof topped with a finial. The tower could be later. Both house and barn have clapboard siding, built about 1890.
732 WISCONSIN – QUEEN ANNE
A late picturesque house with hipped roof, polygonal projecting bay and gabled dormer. The house is surrounded by a partially enclosed veranda supported by Tuscan columns. Detail is hidden by aluminum siding. Built about 1900.
732 Rear – Although the size, scale and roof pitch of this structure is that of a garage, the decoration is late picturesque in feeling and thus probably was intended to complement the adjacent house. Unfortunately, the house has been resided and the garage now has more character, with its openings framed by pilasters and decorative trim.
738, 744 AND 748 WISCONSIN – AMERICAN FOURSQUARE
Three virtually identical speculative houses. Each is two stories plus attic with narrow clapboard siding, paneled corner boards (744 only), front porches across the front (744 has its original columns and railings), and bays on the second floor and dormers in the attic, both of which have diamond paned windows. All constructed about 1910.
800 WISCONSIN – VERNACULAR
The J. P. Farnsworth House was built about 1900. A late picturesque / Stick vernacular two story plus attic with white clapboarding. Rusticated concrete block foundation. Gabled roof,bracket-decorated bay to the south, front and south windows have leaded upper panels, under small hipped roofs; entry porch has Ionic columns. A rear porch has latticework. House shape and details are about 1880, but the foundation is later. Possibly this house was moved or raised.
816 WISCONSIN – PRAIRIE SCHOOL
The original name of this house was the Dr. Connell House. Although built by Mrs. R. Watrous in 1913, the house stood vacant until it was purchased four years later by Dr. and Mrs. Daniel Connell, a locally prominent surgeon and his wife. In the ensuing years, only three families lived here until the mid 1990s: Dr. and Mrs. Connell, Dr. and Mrs. G. W. Curless, 1930 – 1960, and Dr. and Mrs. Walter Scholten, 1960s to about 1995.
An architecturally significant example of Prairie Style influence in Beloit, this two story stucco house is dominated by rectangular massing, horizontal lines, and a variety of materials and textures. The ribbon windows, leaded casement on the second story and sash on the first, extended eaves, and a low retaining wall all stress the horizontal quality of the house. Wooden trim provides a highly linear decorative scheme, dividing the facade into horizontal panels and enframing the windows in horizontal bands, while heavy rafters extend beyond the eaves. A cross gable and two story box bay window project slightly from the east well but are held in low relief. The pedimented brick entry and the side porch are supported by squat, battered brick piers. Both the wooden trim and the tile roof - reminiscent of the Arts and Crafts movement as well as traditional Japanese architecture – enliven the solid stucco walls and provide an eclectic element to the Prairie massing. The house has a large lot and serves as an imposing landmark along Wisconsin Avenue, anchoring the northeast corner of the Near East Side Historic District.